Wednesday, October 26, 2011

Angelic Doctor, Scripture, and Homily: A Study

The Summa Theologica is pseudonymous with St. Thomas Aquinas to the extent that it is forgotten that Thomas was a member of the Order of Preachers, and he himself did preach and give homilies.  One of my favorite homilies of Aquinas is his Hic Est Liber (This is the Book).  This homily is a run through sacred scripture and the various books and overall messages of those books.  It is well worth a read, and it is an easy read.  I've decided to teach this homily to my class before diving into scripture.  If you want to follow along, you can read the homily and follow along with the questions.  Answers will appear next week.

  • On what three things is the authority of Scripture Founded?
  • What two ways does Sacred Scripture lead a person to live and which way is taught according to the New Testament and the Old Testament?
  • What are the two principal parts of Scripture?
  •  According to what is Old Testament Divided?  What are the two types of commandments?
  •  What are the Three Subdivisions of Sacred Scripture?
  •  What is the fourth kind of book is mentioned by Jerome?  Why did the Catholic Church adept these books if the authors were in doubt?
  • What are the Two Parts of the Law?  What is the focus of each part?
  • What two things are the prophets herald to do?
  •  What is the threefold divine beneficence that the prophets expose to the people?
  • What, according to Saint Thomas Aquinas is the difference between the Major and Minor Prophets?
  •   How do the following prophets lead: Isaiah, Jeremiah, and Ezekiel?
  •   In what way might the prophets in the previous question be arranged in a second manner (Include Daniel in the mix.)?  Also, to what New Testament books do these prophetic books correspond?
  •   The third part of the Old Testament is broken up into two ways fathers instruct.  What are those two ways?
  • What are the two ways deeds instruct?
  • What are the four principal virtues?  What Old Testament books do they correspond with?
  • What are the Divisions of the New Testament?
  • What is each of the four gospels chiefly concerned?
  • What is another way we can speak of the four Gospels and what is the symbol of each?
  • The Execution of the power of grace is shown in which three New Testament books (or grouping of books) and what is each books main focus?

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...